2016 Hiatus Recap: Graduation, Surgery and South Korea

I graduate!!! And I ended my semester with a bang (look at my grades below). I was also elected to carry the flag for the law school. That was a honor and a blessing. My time doing my Masters program went quick for me and I enjoyed every minute of it. It may sound cliche, but it’s never too late to start or finish your goals. If you’re breathing you still have time. Capitalize off this beautiful life you’ve been given, by living your life to the fullest. Life is a gift.

Some of you may know I was in the Army many, many moons ago. Due to that great experience that would never change or regret, I had to undergo foot reconstructive surgery in 2012. But some of hardware they put in my foot, dislodged itself from the location it was put at and moved to the opposite side of my foot…. crazy right??? So I had to undergo surgery again, to remove that hardware. But two days before my surgery, why did I get evacuated from my apartment? I have to tell you the story because it’s funny now, but it wasn’t then. So….

I was in my bathroom putting braids in my hair, watching Netflix, to prepare myself for surgery, when I started hearing people yelling and knocking on doors. I didn’t pay it any attention, because I thought the kids in the apartment complex were playing around. About 30 to 45 minutes passed and I started hearing sirens and at that point I got up and went out on my patio. It truly looked like a scene from a movie. People were running and screaming at a me to get out of the apartment and there was smoke and fiery debris falling from the sky. So what did I do??? Grab the weave I was braiding in my hair, some high heels and a dress that I had already had in a bag for some reason, my MacBook charger, but not my MacBook, my iPad and a few other random things. At that very moment I realized that I needed to prepare a “Safety Plan” as soon as I get an opportunity. Now I’m running out my apartment with half of my hair braided and the other half in a crazy bun, bag slug over my shoulder and the weave in my hand and start running in the direction everyone else was. I had to jump over a fence, with the help some gentlemen from the apartments and dropped and broke my iPad in the process. Then I had to walk a few blocks to get to a gas station so that my friend’s mother could pick me up. To say the least, I was an eventful day. And two days later I had to get surgery.

Love and spontaneity will have you jump up and travel half way across the world. And that’s exactly what I did at the end of 2016, when I went to Seoul, South Korea. It was such a beautiful experience. From the 2D Infantry Division Museum at Camp Red Cloud, to the preserved exquisiteness of the Gyeongbokgung Palace, with the dichotomy of the amazing metropolitan city of Seoul surrounding it. The pictures won’t do it justice, but take a look. I will always cherish these memories.

15741135_10208955026572209_5289944044347611864_n

2016 was another amazing year. Let’s keep this pattern going.

Until the next time stay, “Beautiful, Sassy, and Sophisticated!!”

Shemmyla Green aka Ms. Sophisticated

Leave a Reply

