Facebook Friday Friend: Wendy Nguyen

This Week’s Facebook Friday Friend

Who: Wendy Nguyen

Profession: Fashion Guru

Website: www.wendyslookbook.com, www.youtube.com/wendyslookbook

Wendy Nguyen has been my creative inspiration for this week, that’s why I chose her to be my Facebook Friday Friend. She has such a unique and creative way of expressing her fashion sense, with her captivating videos. Also her bubble personality is infectious (I Love Happy People ❤)!! Check her out!!

Bio:

Hi everyone!  I’m Wendy. I find inspiration in art, nature, culture, architecture, food, people, and music. And for me, fashion is a compilation of all that. Fashion is a vehicle for me to play with shapes and colors in order to uncover my personal style.

In addition to fashion, I’m also very passionate about juvenile justice.  I grew up in foster care, carried my belongings in a trash bag and worried about being homeless at the age of 18.  I worked three jobs in high school to save enough money to go to college and as a result feel truly blessed to have had the opportunity to do so.  I finished high school with honors, emancipated from the foster care system, and went to the University of California, Berkeley, where I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Psychology.

Throughout my sophomore to senior year in college, I volunteered as a counselor at the Berkeley Free Clinic providing mental health services to the homeless community and also as a visiting teacher at Harding Elementary working with underprivileged students.  After college, I continued to work with marginalized communities, mainly as an educator.  I volunteered at the San Francisco Juvenile Detention Center, working with incarcerated youths in the maximum security unit, for over a year and a half.   Most of these youths, like me, were from broken homes and/or foster care.  I taught the high school curriculum with the goal of helping these youths pass the high school exit exam, so they’ll have a second chance in life once they leave juvenile hall.  Currently, I’m based in Los Angeles and volunteer at InsideOutWriters, a non-profit organization that provides mentorship to previously incarcerated youths.

I’m forever thankful to my friends, who I consider my family, my dear brother, and my amazing boyfriend for all of their support and love.  I feel truly blessed in life. http://www.wendyslookbook.com/about/

“Wendy, I Love what you are doing!! You truly make Fashion Fun!! Keep up the Great work!!”

Until the next time stay, “Beautiful, Sassy, and Sophisticated”!!

Shemmyla Green aka Ms. Sophisticated

Leave a Reply

