Facebook Friends Friday: Brian To Photography

Hello everyone! I’m so excited to start this new segment of my blog called, “Facebook Friends Friday!” The point of this segment is to get to know my Facebook Friends alittle better and to put a spotlight on those who are on their GRIND, doing what they’re PASSIONATE about and loving it. I am focusing on the Beauty, Fashion, and Nature Health industries, but I will also be showcasing those people who are making an impact in their communities. So stop by every Friday to find out about some GREAT PEOPLE, you never know you may see your beautiful Face. lol! 🙂 Join my Brazen Sophistication Fan Page and refer people, if ya like. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Atlanta-GADallas-TX/Brazen-Sophistication/118832664828508?ref=sgm

This Weeks Facebook Friday Friend:

Who: Brian To

Business: Photography

Website: http://www.briantophoto.com/

Bio: I feel very lucky and grateful to have become successful as a photographer since 1990. After graduating from UCLA Film school, I had the fortune to work with mentors such as Greg Gorman, David LaChapelle, and Steven Meisel, who photographed me for the L’Uomo Vogue, CK ONE campaign, and an Italian Vogue Cover. Herb Ritts, a good friend, strongly influenced my style with his clean, understated elegant approach to beauty, fashion, and commercial photography.

There is nothing more beautiful than capturing a truthful moment. Often what people consider mistakes are the most interesting. I simply try to create a free environment, which allows subjects to enjoy the purity of the moment as it happens. One of my first assignments was photographing Antonio Sabato Jr. for his book NO EXCUSES – WORKOUT FOR LIFE, which I approached by having an assistant hold a light and then followed him around the gym as if I was not there.

For many years, I pursued art photography, appeared in several group exhibitions, and exhibited two solo shows of self-portraits. I became a member of Cinematographer’s Guild LOCAL 600 after shooting still photography for several of Randal Kleiser’s films and various independent features. Photographing directors Bryan Singer and John Schlesinger inspired me to direct my first film AUDIT starring Judy Greer, which premiered at LA FILM FESTIVAL, and won Best Short Film at the WIN Femme Film Festival. More recently, I shot music video still photography for hit songs “Brick” by Paramore and “Airplanes” by B.o.B.

My background in film directing really helped me understand how to bring out the best with actors, models, and celebrities. Aside from covers, catalog, fashion, and celebrity editorial work for magazines such as INSTYLE, I have enjoyed shooting beauty ad campaigns for PURE BEAUTY, JAPONESQUE, JOHNSON & JOHNSON, GARNIER, WALGREENS, VH1, and THE WB and CW shows such as BEAUTY AND THE GEEK 2, which won a Promax/BDA Silver Award for outdoor print campaign.

Brian, I just want to say, Thank you for being my Facebook Friend and you do Amazing work. I love your simple, clean, beautiful photos. And I wish you the BEST in all you do!!

Shemmyla Green aka Ms. Sophisticated

Leave a Reply

