Scars: An Overcomers Beauty Mark

FitTV36

At the age a thirteen, I had to undergo surgery due to a severe case of scoliosis. So I had to learn early in life that you have to Love yourself, regardless of what imperfections you may have. Even though my surgeon did an Phenomenal job; I was still left with a 12-½ inch scar, from the 2 steel rods that were put in my back, to support my spine. I also have a 3½-inch scar on my hip, where he took out bone marrow. Once in awhile I have insecurities, do to the scars on my back. Specially when wearing clothing that reveals them, but I get over it quickly! I call them my War Scars and Beauty Marks, because I overcame a tremendous obstacle and came out on the other side: Confident, Secure and Beautiful!! My doctor told me that I may have some limitations in what I can do after my surgery, but in less than a year I went back to competition dancing. Years later I became a cheerleader, model and even went to the Army (for a short stint)! Here are a few celebrities that also have scars and a story to go with them!!

NOJE-18s34-seal-700_368

Seal Henry Olusegun Olumide Adeola Samuel

Seal’s facial scars are the result of the condition discoid lupus erythematosus (DLE), a condition where the immune cells attack various body tissues. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seal_(musician)

parminder-nagra-1-golema

Parminder Kaur Nagra

At the age of seven, Nagra suffered a burn while preparing a meal on the gas stove when her trousers caught fire. She was taken into the bathroom by an uncle who immersed her in cold water. When the burned fabric was later removed, her skin attached to it and left a resulting scar on her right leg. The story was included into the film Bend It Like Beckham; however, the details were changed such that her character was burned while making beans on toast.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parminder_Nagra

dfdeb77d-732b-4cc9-aeaf-c3c078ab4cc2catherine-zeta-jones-001

Catherine Zeta-Jones

As a child, she was exposed to a virus that gave her breathing difficulties. This required a tracheotomy surgery, which ultimately left a surgical scar on her neck. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001876/bio

3

Padma Parvati Lakshmi

In 1984, when she was 14 years old, Lakshmi was involved in a serious automobile accident, causing an injury to her right arm that required surgery, which left a 7-inch scar[1] between her elbow and shoulder. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Padma_Lakshmi

So everyone, “Love who you are”!! Be the Best You, You can be!! Until the next Post, stay “Beautiful, Sassy and Sophisticated”!

Shemmyla aka Ms. Sophisticated

4 comments

  1. I love this article. One of the greatest lessons in life thus far is to love oneself, even you imperfections. Growing up I always hated my legs. I longed for long lean legs but instead the were short andmuscular; I called them tree stumps. I woud always say I hated my legs and in response my mother woud say,”girl, ubetter be glad you got some legs.” These words never resonated with me until after one afternoonof complaining about my legs. My mother gave me her normal response on our way to Ames. When I got out the car I saw a man with no legs. As a child I had never seen someone missing both legs. I felt bad, not that the man needed or even wanted my sympothy, but I felt bad for how ungrateful I had been. I learned from that day on to love my legs and I thank God often for them.

    • I agree completely Chantel!! We need to be grateful for who we are and the bodies we have!! Sometimes I just people watch and notice how different we are…but our Differences make us Beautiful!! I love that there’s a variety of people!!

  2. I love this. I have a bad scar on my knee (that I keep mostly hidden) and one on my shoulder that in the summer is rarely hidden. I used to notice the stares and take offense to the questions, but now I just say, “They are there to remind me where I’ve been and what I made it through.” I was asked if I’d have a skin graph done to fix the one on my shoulder and sometimes I think I will and should and other times I’m not so sure. So I guess I’ll decide for a few more years.

    Thanks for writing this.

    • Courtney, I was smiling and nodding my head in agreement with your comment! I understand Totally!! It your decision whether or not you want to get your skin graph…whatever you’re comfortable with! And whatever decision you make will be the right one!!

Leave a Reply

